Dick, Spielberg among Science Fiction Hall of Fame inductees

Seattle, Washington – The Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame announced this week the names of its four inductees for 2005. They include filmmaker Steven Spielberg, author Philip K. Dick, artist Chesley Bonestell and animator Ray Harryhausen.

Scheduled to take place on May 6 in Seattle, this will be the first induction ceremony since the hall of fame moved to Seattle from its previous home in Lawrence, Kansas. Induction into the hall is not based on any single work, according to the hall’s press release, but for a lifetime of creative endeavors that “shaped” the science fiction genre.

Inductees come from four categories: film, television and media, literature, art, and a category called “open” which is designed for individuals who do not fit into one of the other categories. 2005 is the first year the hall inducted people for works other than …

For: Wikinews